There was a Derby?

Check and share here for the latest fishing reports.
raz
Site Admin
Species: Coldwater fishes!!!

There was a Derby?

Post by raz »

There are a million reasons not to get into a derby, from too busy--to--too lazy.
But my buddy Matt and I sat on the side lines during the LCI Fathers Day Derby...just to make it fair for everyone else. 8-)
Just kidding...

We decided to fish Monday, hoping for a little less traffic on the water and a parking spot at the ramp for us late starters. We started out at split rock about 7:30 and were into some very active, hard fighting, very fun, 5-6 pound class Lake Trout right off the bat. Slide divers seemed to be the ticket early, I was running the big Honeybee Kop Kar and Matt was doing....whatever on his side.

I think we boated like 8 fish or so before they decided to start short striking us and we had trouble hanging on to them. Matt has the numbers as I'm not good at counting above 3...5 on a good day.

Looking for silvers, Matt finally hooked up to a nice 5 pounder off a rigger that wrapped itself around a Diver line. After some sorting out the tangle, we put the fish in the box for a nice grilled meal or two. (Actually fish taco's tonight.)
I finally managed a "pure energy" 4 pound silver that tried like heck to fly away. (A surface to air missile would have been handy).

We had a riot, saw lots of forum members out and tons of others.

Matt lost the biggest Landlocked in the lake...his story to tell.

Oh yeah...I found smelt.
Attachments
IMG_1331.jpg
IMG_1322.jpg
Catch and serve with lemon.
Gerry
Off season
Species: Salmon/Lakers

Re: There was a Derby?

Post by Off season »

Raz, was that you at Westport Launch around 2ish yesterday ? We had HT Trophy in parking lot. 2 Bald Guys! LOL
"OFF SEASON"
raz
Site Admin
Species: Coldwater fishes!!!

Post by raz »

Not me!
Catch and serve with lemon.
Gerry
will nolan (swilly)
Species: whatever bites!

Post by will nolan (swilly) »