1986 Starcraft Mariner 220V rebuild

General discussion not related to Lake Champlain.
Ahhspray
Species: Whatever the lake will provide

1986 Starcraft Mariner 220V rebuild

Post by Ahhspray »

I purchased this boat off Craigslist in the spring of 2021 and completed the rebuild in about 6 weeks.

I kept meaning to post it here in case there was any interest in seeing a job like this done. We saved it from an eventual trip to a landfill, I think. Whether the job was done well by other folks standards, I don't know but I tried to do quality work so that it wouldn't have to be done again soon. Prior to this hull, I've owned quite a number of boats and have always done all of the work on them myself since I wouldn't be able to afford them any other way. While I'm by no means a marine mechanic, I try to research, learn, and ask questions about how the work should be done and then do it the "right" way ...within my budget, time and personal skillset restrictions, of course.
Anyway, I'm not sure how long it will take me to post the pics i took of the process or to figure out how much commentary to add along the way but if you enjoy it, or have any questions or suggestions, please let me know.
FYI - anytime I say "I" what I SHOULD be saying is "with the help of my very understanding wife and kids", because they sure helped me a lot! Hopefully I figure out the image uploading process too.
Cheers
Ted

Here's where we started on March 24th, 2021:

Here's where we ended up by May 19th, 2021:
Totally rebuilt - 1986 22' Starcraft 220V CC T-top w/ 1986 Evinrude 140hp and 1978 Merc 7.5hp kicker
Ahhspray

Re: 1986 Starcraft Mariner 220V rebuild

Post by Ahhspray »

March 24, 2021