Angler Diaries

Share info on fishing Champlain.
JonahWithers
Species: Salmon

Angler Diaries

Post by JonahWithers »

Hello everyone,

My name is Jonah Withers and I am a fish biologist with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service working on Atlantic salmon restoration in Lake Champlain. I apologize for not connecting with this community earlier but with some recent changes in personnel and responsibilities within the program, I am hoping to engage with anglers more regularly.

As some of you may know, members of the Lake Champlain Fish and Wildlife Management Cooperative collected angler diaries from the 1970s until 2019. The program was discontinued because we were not collecting enough information for the data to be used as a reliable management tool. This was mainly due to low participation and missing data entries within diaries.

We are interested in reestablishing the angler diaries and possibly making it more accessible in the hopes that access may promote participation and complete submissions.

These data have the potential to be an important indicator mangers use to make management decisions. If you would be willing to provide data on your fishing trips such as start time, end time, and species caught could please fill out this 4 question survey below?

https://forms.office.com/Pages/Response ... FCVVVUSy4u

Thank you all very much. And happy fishing!
Jonah
digitroll (ron)

Re: Angler Diaries

Post by digitroll (ron) »

Will do Jonah! I will start a separate spreadsheet with the data collected you need and send to you Christmas time.

This data is important for the future of our fisheries in with decisions and studies moving forward. Let's get everyone involved this year! Spread the word!
Last edited by digitroll (ron) on Sat Apr 02, 2022 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
popster
Species: Salmo Salar Sebago

Post by popster »

Welcome Jonah. Hoping we can get 100 LCU members to help collect data this season to help the Lake Management Team.
Bill
"POINTER"